The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2009, 07:15 PM

sgjr is on a distinguished road
Default mesh vest?

New to this site. It is very informative for me an experienced fisherman; however I'm new to fly fishing. I've seen many vests but looking for your thoughts. I'll be fishing sunfish initially. Don't want something bulky or hot. Heck, i'm not even certain what to look for folks. Any assistance is welcome. Thank you.
Old 04-18-2009, 07:50 PM

Jimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant futureJimmie has a brilliant future
Default Re: mesh vest?

Guys in this area say that they prefer the all mesh vests. It can get over 100* in the lower elevations of the western Sierra's. I've got a solid material vest but plan on the next one being all mesh for local streams.
Old 04-18-2009, 08:33 PM

Rip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond repute

A lot of warm water guys (sunfish/bass) don't even use vests
A lanyard to hold your tools along with a 'fanny pack' or a boat bag (or big pockets) is pretty much all you need
Old 04-18-2009, 11:17 PM