The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2011, 11:49 AM

kevthebassman is a jewel in the roughkevthebassman is a jewel in the roughkevthebassman is a jewel in the roughkevthebassman is a jewel in the rough
Default Getting Started

Hello all, and once again thank you to Frank for the forum, and thank you to all the people who have filled this site with such a wealth of information, I've spent hours reading and still have barely scratched the surface. The wife has already accepted that she's a fishing and hunting widow.

I'm just starting out in the fly fishing game, still have yet to get a line wet. The site has helped me get up on the lingo, which just a few days ago was a mystery to me.

I have been up to this point primarily a bass fisher, started my fishing obsession fishing for largemouth on big water, then progressed to wading for smallmouth on the river. While fishing for smallmouth on the home waters I have hooked the occasional trout on 6 pound test with 1/4 oz mepp's spinners, which has piqued my interest in trout, but I don't see myself giving up smallmouth anytime soon.

My wonderful wife took my threats to get into flyfishing to heart, and for Christmas, bought me a rod/reel combo from Cabela's. I have the 9' 5wt Cahill combo, prespooled with a weight forward floating line and an unidentified leader. The combo gets good reviews on the site, but I have saved the packaging and have a small budget to upgrade if needed.