The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2011, 09:39 PM

flyfisherz will become famous soon enough
Default Looking to get a new rod/reel combo..

Hello fly fishing forums. I just joined this to ask for recommendations for a new fly rod and reel combo for a beginner/novice flyfisher. I have had about 2 years experience with a cheap ($70) starter combo kit and I'm looking to upgrade. I will primarily use it for medium sized trout (8-16in.) yet looking for one that is able to handle say a 22 incher. I've done quite a bit of research and I believe I would like a 4 piece 5wt 8' to maybe 8'6" rod because that seems to match my fishing conditions and I like the 4 piece for easy compact. I've been looking at the orvis clearwater II rod/reel combo but they don't make it in a 4 piece 8' or 8'6" model. However, they do have an 8'6" 4 piece 4wt. I guess my question now is, how big of a trout can a 4 wt handle?

I'm definitely open to other rod/reel suggestions too, my price range for all is around $200-$350. Also, I might not buy for a few more months, should I wait for new 2011 models to come out and then get better deals on older models?

Thanks in advance!
Old 01-13-2011, 12:35 AM

MoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Looking to get a new rod/reel combo..