The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2011, 03:16 PM

pylot is on a distinguished road
Question Complete beginner - questions about trout

Hi - it's my first time here. I've never been fly fishing, but I just I found an old fishing rod in the basement so I'm excited to give it a try. It's a Fenwick model FF75, 2 piece rod, 7.5 ft, wt 5-6. Seems in good shape. I'm mostly interested in mountain stream trout fishing. I found a place that offers casting lessons, but I can't wait till then to find out more!

Meanwhile I've done some reading, so I know a little bit about matching the line to the rod and the leader/tippet to the fly, but there's still questions:

1. Leader/tippet. They seem to come in different materials and length, and I've seen people recommending fluorocarbon. Any particular reason for that?

2. Flies. What is not clear to me is how to match a fly to the fish you expect to catch (i.e. use fly size 14 for trout in the 10" range).

3. I know this is a fly fishing forum, but I was wondering if I can use the same rod (maybe with a different setup) to cast other lures (i.e. Kastmaster, Mepps, etc). For instance, it seems to me that very small lures are almost weightless, so I can replace the fly with them? Maybe?

4. This seem highly unlikely, but assuming I have the right size leader / fly, is there a maximum size fish I can catch on a wt 5-6 rod without breaking it? There's a lake nearby that has stocked trout (not my first choice...) in the 5 lb range. Is that too heavy?

Thanks in advance!
Daniel
Old 01-20-2011, 03:46 PM