The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2009, 08:12 PM

Coloradoflyfisherman is on a distinguished road
Default New Fly Fisher in Colorado--Need Guidance

Hello,

My name is Shaun and I am totally new to fly fishing. I live in Denver and I am starting a journey into the diverse world of fly fishing. I have been going to local shops, reading a lot on the internet and in books, and have gone to a few free classes at Orvis. I finally decided to take the (financial, emotional, intellectual) plunge, so now I have the basic gear and have mentally prepared myself to start fishing. I must admit that it is quite daunting and scary to start fishing (I don't know quite why?), but I plan to go to a river/lake very soon to begin. First question, does anyone know where a newbie such as myself should try fishing locally, say 1 hour from Denver? Also, I am going on a trip with my wife to Utah (SW) and California (Sequoia, Death Valley, and Yosemite), so do you have any suggestions for where I could go fish in these places? When I get back from my trip I am taking a day long intro course by Trout Unlimited (As a side, is anyone else here a member and what do you think of it if you are?). I am convinced that I should probably hire a guide at some point this summer to give me some guidance and pointers so I don't waste too many years trying to be a decent fly fisher. Any suggestions for guides in Colorado? (man, I am asking a lot of questions, aren't I?)