The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2009, 03:09 PM

BigSky is on a distinguished road
Default What is the best single piece of advice you would give beginners?

I'm no expert. However, after fly fishing for almost 20 years and seriously in the past few years, I've often thought about what would be the best advise I could have received in the beginning. My greatest frustration came from trying to decide what the hell each fly was. My best single piece of advice would be not to try to remember the names of all those flies. Rather, learn what mayflies, caddis, midges, stones, etc. are and what resembles them. Heck, you can call the flies Larry, Steve and George instead of Parachute Adams, Prince Nymph and Cream Variant. The names will come with exposure and repetition.

Keep in mind this piece of advice comes with the understanding that I also pursued learning all of the necessary aspects of our sport, which I did. I just got so focused on and distracted by what all these flies were. It was an unnecessary distraction for a mental midget such as myself.
Old 05-26-2009, 03:14 PM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: What is the best single piece of advice you would give beginners?

First;