The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2009, 07:51 AM

lefty2 is on a distinguished road
Default overlining

i need a bit of help. i am a rookie, and without doing enough research, i bought a 7wt. fast action for bass and smallmouth. (i know now that i should have bought a slower action). i was wondering if i put an 8wt line on this setup, if it would slow it down? i would at least be able to use it for steelhead once in awhile. i have tried to sell the rod, but evidently this is not one of the more desired rods. thanks for any help.
Old 05-27-2009, 08:10 AM

Default Re: overlining

i meant to say steelhead and smallmouth, sorry.
Old 05-27-2009, 08:23 AM

Biggie has much to be proud ofBiggie has much to be proud ofBiggie has much to be proud ofBiggie has much to be proud ofBiggie has much to be proud ofBiggie has much to be proud ofBiggie has much to be proud ofBiggie has much to be proud of

Overlining won't really slow down the rod you own but it will help to load the rod and give you more performance from the rod, especially in casting distance or into wind. What kind of rod did you purchase?
Old 05-27-2009, 08:38 AM

9.6 foot redfly2. nice rod, just a step above my experience level.
Old 05-27-2009, 09:09 AM

bloodhound is on a distinguished road

thats a hell of a nice rod for the price, i am about to overline mine as well due to not being to get the line to load in the wind to save my life, btw 8'6" 5 wt. lovge the rod though
Old 05-27-2009, 10:29 AM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator