The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussions regarding fly fishing as a whole. Ask questions. Get answers...

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2009, 09:58 AM

bjweller has a spectacular aura aboutbjweller has a spectacular aura about
Getting Skunked

I am looking for some honest discussion about how often people get skunked--capoot--you throw everything in your fly box at them and get nothing. I left Colorado in early June after getting 21 fish in 36 hours up in Eleven Mile Canyon. I am out in CT fishing some trout rivers that get really good write ups and feel like I am a beginner again. I try to apply John Gierach's defintion of a successful fishing trip--if you intended to go fishing and you went fishing it was successful. But to all of you "expert fly fishers" out there, how often do you fish, how often do you get skunked and how much does it bother you?
Old 06-13-2009, 03:21 PM

DryFlyGuy has a spectacular aura aboutDryFlyGuy has a spectacular aura aboutDryFlyGuy has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Getting Skunked

Hi bj,

I pretty much expect to get skunked everytime I am on new water. That doesn't always happen, but it is what I have come to expect. On water I am familiar with, it happens probably less than 10%. Having said that, I usually know when to fish certain waters and when not to.

I recently moved to Wyoming, so I am getting skunked quite often right now. I am just starting to figure out some of the stillwater. Once the rivers and streams clear up, I suspect I'll get skunked again.

I don't know if you are looking for a percentage or what, but if I was going to venture a guess, I would break it down like this for me:

New river: 65% of the time I get skunked 1st time out.
New stream: 45% of the time I get skunked 1st time out.
New lake: 75% of the time I get skunked 1st time out.