The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2009, 06:19 AM

Zman3382 is on a distinguished road
Default Muskrat Fur Patch -> Dubbing

Hi everyone, I'm new here and this is my first post. Im also pretty new to tying flies. I would like to practice tying a few Adams, and have acquired a patch of muskrat fur to use for dubbing. My questions is, how do I separate the underfur to make the dubbing, and then is there any use for the leftover guard hairs? Any info would be appreciated. Thanks!
Old 07-28-2009, 07:20 AM

aroostookbasser has a spectacular aura aboutaroostookbasser has a spectacular aura aboutaroostookbasser has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Muskrat Fur Patch -> Dubbing

My preferred method is to "sheer" it off using electric clippers I use on my dog. But scissors will work. I then place the clipped hair in a food processor/blender.....saved for just this use. The blender.......blends the hair into a uniform mix....evening out the color as well. Now I sometimes add rabbit to lighten the color or to add other tones. As far as guard hairs, I leave them in and pick them out if the tye requires it for best result. The guard hairs usually add more "bugginess" to the dub. Now you can alter the color of Muskrat easier if you have the whole hide. As you can add belly fur instead of rabbit to lighten the dubbing. As some can attest on this forum...i have no problem getting hides and use alot of 'rat dubbing in my more commercial efforts.

"As The deer Thirts For Water, I thirst for you Oh Lord"

North Woods Wanderings
Adventure into the North Woods.......

"Aroostook Flyers and Tyers"
Old 07-28-2009, 08:43 AM
Administrator