The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2006, 09:20 PM

brandon78 is on a distinguished road
Default i would like to get started in fly tying

i would like to get started in fly tying, but need all the materials, how much would it cost me to get a decent set up and what all am i gonna need. also is it hard to learn?

and i found this, is it any good? http://store.beekflies.com/prflytykit.html
id mainly be tying trout flys and some terrestrials
Old 05-22-2006, 09:21 AM
Prospecting for Trout

Piscator will become famous soon enoughPiscator will become famous soon enough
Default Re: i would like to get started in fly tying

I'm new to fly tying as well. If you ever start it you will be addicted to fly tying as much as fly fishing. I to looked at these types of package deals that contained fly tying materials as well as fly tying vise and tools. Although, you may save some money in the short term, I believe that you will quickly find that you will be disappointed in the lower end vise that are offered in these types of packages.

It is my opinion that you should invest in a quality vise price range $125-200 to get the full potention out of your fly tying experience. Speaking from experience, I started out with a low end vise and quickly became frustrated by the way the vise worked and failed to hold the hook properly. Fortunately, I attended my local fly fishing club fly tying table held monthly where I had a great deal of knowledge given to a newbie like myself. This gave me access to different types of high quality vises. Plus, someone in the group has loaned me a spare one of theirs until I can afford a new one.

Trust me spend the money now, otherwise, you will most likely find that you will spend it later.