The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2010, 03:09 PM

FrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond reputeFrankB2 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Measuring Hackle Size...????

I've been using a Griffin hackle guage for about 6 years. I found a cut-out
guage on the back of a Whiting saddle package, and the two guages read
very differently. A #16 hackle on the Griffin is a #20 on the Whiting. I measured the distance for the #16 line on both guages, and it's very different
(can't remember exact figures).

Do you guys eyeball your hackle, use a guage as a guide, etc?

---------- Post added at 04:09 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:27 PM ----------

Here's a parachute Adams I just tied (down and dirty just to get a pic up).
It's a #20 Mustad dry hook, and the hackle is Whiting 100 #16. While the
hackle wasn't wound pretty, it certainly looks smaller than a #16. It measured
almost #18 on my Griffin guage.

Click the image to open in full size.
Old 01-13-2010, 03:11 PM
Super Moderator

jpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond repute