The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2010, 11:17 PM

smallieman will become famous soon enoughsmallieman will become famous soon enough
Default Looking for a Vise

Guys I am looking for a new Vise and I was at a local shop and tried the Danvise Rotary and liked it alot. What are some pros and cons... I am not looking to break the bank but I dont want to buy **** either
Old 01-20-2010, 08:08 AM

ab4usa is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Looking for a Vise

I just strated a fly tying class so I am no expert, but I bought a Peak Vise after lots of research and am very happy with it. Under $150.
Old 01-20-2010, 08:13 AM

bekiu002 will become famous soon enoughbekiu002 will become famous soon enough

Disclosure-I got my Danvise this Christmas so I'm not expert.
Pros: It rotates very smoothly, it seems to be well built with a sturdy C-Clamp, it comes with a DVD on how to use it,and most importantly it holds a hook like a rock.
Cons: If you don't like using the C-clamp you will pretty much have to go to E-bay to get a pedestal stand that will fit this vise.

Some people may say it looks like something straight out of Star Wars because of its odd shape and plastic body. But people like me think that is more of a pro than a con. To sum up, I really like mine. You won't break the bank and you won't get **** either.
Cabot
Old 01-20-2010, 08:40 AM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future