The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2011, 09:15 PM

diamond rush is a name known to alldiamond rush is a name known to alldiamond rush is a name known to alldiamond rush is a name known to alldiamond rush is a name known to alldiamond rush is a name known to all
Default EHC Tips and Tricks?

I'm still new to fly fishing and fly tying, but supposedly the caddisfly hatch is just starting on my favorite streams. And I'm going to tie up a bunch.

I tied up some basic black EHCs, but I was wondering if anyone had pointers or favorite caddis recipes. Either wet or dry is fine. Give me some ideas!

A couple newbie questions: How much hair is appropriate for the wings? I've got some deer belly hair that I found. But I don't know the proper amount per hook size. Nothing seems to look quite right. Will other types of hair (horse? dog? rabbit?) work? Silly idea, but pine straw's about the same consistency as deer belly hair. Does that work? What should I use as a tail? Hackles or no hackles?

For the record, I'm fishing the driftless area of Minnesota. Please enlighten me!
Old 04-10-2011, 09:26 PM

HuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant futureHuronRiverDan has a brilliant future
Send a message via Yahoo to HuronRiverDan
Default Re: EHC Tips and Tricks?

Diamond, take a look on you tube for tying videos for various caddis; you could also check out Blue Ribbon Flies website, they have some great caddis videos...

Dan