The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2011, 04:02 PM
Glen Wright is just really niceGlen Wright is just really niceGlen Wright is just really niceGlen Wright is just really nice
Default Dubbing in Place of Peacock Herl

I've been thinking about tying up some Eng Thengs which is basically a Flash Back Pheasant Tail with yellow biot legs. Its my favorite nymph, I've caught more fish nymphing with that fly in more different places than anything.

I know a tyer can substitute materials all they want, but since I am new to tying I'm just wondering if you all think using Mr. Peacock Dubbing from Fly Tyers Dungeon would be a good looking substitute for peacock herl. One of the main reasons I'm thinking about subsituting is to I've read and heard in videos that dubbing is often more durable than peacock herl.
Attention New Fly Fishers and those just wanting to improve- Join a Fly Fishing Club. They have classes on every aspect of fly fishing for beginners to advanced for free or cheaper than offered elsewhere. Some offer mentor programs. You will make friends with other fly fishers. Clubs often have outings in which members pay special group rates for guides or to fish prime private access areas.
Old 05-06-2011, 06:02 PM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute