The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2011, 05:46 PM

smoky_hiker will become famous soon enough
Default I'm just starting out tying..

I was wondering what flies would be easiest for a new fly tier? I've tied one wooly bugger, it turned out pretty good I think. Also speaking of wooly buggers; what is the critter that a wooly bugger is suppose to imitate most? Which color pattern would be the best to tie? What size should I tie for trout, sunfish, and (small) small mouths? Thanks tiers!

"In the school of the outdoors there never is a graduation day" - Jim Casada
Old 07-11-2011, 07:38 PM

lancer09 is a glorious beacon of lightlancer09 is a glorious beacon of lightlancer09 is a glorious beacon of lightlancer09 is a glorious beacon of lightlancer09 is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: I'm just starting out tying..

The WB imitates nothing, and everything just depending on the colors. There recently was a wooly bugger thread asking about colors. Browse that and get some ideas. But I don't nescesarily think there is a bad wooly bugger color. Experiment with different bodies, hackles and tails. Add flash, legs and deer hair collars. Experiment. The Wooly bugger isn't nescesarily a specific fly pattern with set instructions, but more so just a general guideline.
Old 07-12-2011, 12:56 PM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator