The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2011, 03:48 PM

rvc is on a distinguished road
Default Making a dubbing brush

I'm very new to tying. Recently I came across a recipe for a mini-wooly bugger where a dubbing brush was used for the body instead of just regular dubbing. It seems like a good idea to me and so I checked it out and discovered several you-tube videos that showed the wooden trough-type device one uses for making the brushes.

I would like to make this device and wondered if there were standard dimensions that one used for the trough (for lack of a better name). So, how wide, deep and long is it? Better still, are there plans that could be used? ...unless I am treading into someone's copyright - wouldn't want to do that.

Thanks.

RVC

Last edited by rvc; 08-13-2011 at 05:14 AM.
Old 08-15-2011, 09:37 AM

lancer09 is a glorious beacon of lightlancer09 is a glorious beacon of lightlancer09 is a glorious beacon of lightlancer09 is a glorious beacon of lightlancer09 is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Making a dubbing brush

I would just do it with your thread. Unless your going to be tying in bulk I don't think you'll find it necessary to build a block.
Old 08-15-2011, 10:28 AM

tyler185 is a name known to alltyler185 is a name known to alltyler185 is a name known to alltyler185 is a name known to alltyler185 is a name known to alltyler185 is a name known to all

I created a thread not to long about the same thing. I needed to create some dubbing brushes for a fly called the Sleeze Burger. You can buy a device called the cyclone dubbing twister or something like that for $60. There was no way I was going to pay that for something I knew I could build.

Click the image to open in full size.

This is how I built it: