The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-24-2011, 08:32 AM

flysean will become famous soon enough
Default natural dubbing

i was thinking of using natural dubbing as red fox muskrat and opposum. can i use these dubbing on dry flies or only on nymphs. and if i use it on dry do i have to treat it. As you can tell i am a newbie to this sport. thanks again
Old 12-24-2011, 11:00 AM

bigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud of
Default Re: natural dubbing

Most natural fur's make good dubbing for wet flies or nymphs. At one time, before all the synthetic dubbings were available, fur was what was used, even on dry flies. I don't tie a lot of flies with dubbing, but when I do, I prefer natural materials. ( I rarely tie dry flies!) In particular I like rabbit, but opossum, both Aussie & North American is excellent too. I used to do a lot of fur trapping, so have used many types of fur to tie flies! All have a place!

For dry flies, if you don't want to treat them with a floatant, you'll want fur from animals such as Mink, Muskrat, Beaver or any other animal that spends a lot of time in the water. The natural oils in the fur will help provide flotation. Most all natural fur will have some natural oils in it, but those that spend time in the water, generally have more oils in the fur. Eventually, most dry flies tied with fur will need to be treated with a floatant.