Alternative to Mothballs ???

whalensdad

Reaction score
So I've seen all of the posts where people are talking about losing their feathers and fur to the little creepy crawlers and how they should use moth balls, so.......

My fly tying area stinks to high heaven. :eek: There has GOT to be a better way to keep the bugs away. I currently store my tying items in 2 - Sterilite 3 drawer plastic containers on my tying desk. I don't want to store my stuff in sealed boxes or anything that would make it less convenient. Is there anything less odoriferous???

L

Liphookedau

Cedar Balls are supposed to do the same job as Napthalene???,however they do smell better.

lancer09

Reaction score
Maybe it's just me, but i've been tying for ten years and have never had a bug problem. Granted I think it's just a matter of time.

mudbug

Reaction score
I guess I'll give cedar chips a try.

Thanks,
WD
it's the reason they make ceder bottoms on older clothes drawers.

We used to make small ceder Christmas trees in the boy scouts for our parents to put in with clothes or hang in a closet.

silver creek

Reaction score
Cedar chips won't kill moth larva:

Does Cedar Actually Repel Moths?

Does Cedar Repel Clothes Moths?

Purchased materials should be OK. Store them in separate zip lock bags.

For harvested materials like feathers, I freeze then for about a week to kill the larva and adult bugs. Then take them out of the freezer for about 3 weeks to let any eggs hatch and refreeze for another week. Do a second cycle and you should have no live larva, bugs or eggs left. No nasty chemicals either.

Jackster

Reaction score
Can't you keep all of the materials in the containers with the mothballs except the material you are tying with?