The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2007, 07:12 AM

CrystalNZ is on a distinguished road
Default Beginner needs guidance

I just got all the tools and very keen to start, only real question I have is this.
I am a taxidermist by trade, meaning I have a abundant supply of hair and feathers at my fingertips. So question being, should I as a beginner start of deer, bird hair practicing or should I stick to something easy?

http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v234/CrystalNZ/

myspace.com/crystalstaxidermy
Old 08-21-2007, 08:16 AM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future
Default Re: Beginner needs guidance

Well there's lots of flies that involve feathers that are reasonably easy, (especially with a good hackle plier) but most flies that involve deer hair fall more in the intermediate to advanced categories.

If you've got pheasant tail feathers around, a pheasant tail nymph is pretty straightforward. You'll just need to acquire some peacock herl, thread, and fine copper wire to complete the recipe. Tying very small pt's is very tough, so I'd recommend you start with a size 10 or so and work your way down to smaller sizes, teaching yourself how to keep proportions accurate as you move along. Here's the steps All Time Favorites - Hare’s Ear and Pheasant Tail Beginning Fly Tying, Part 11 - FAOL

I'd rather hunt fish than bait deer any day.
Old 08-21-2007, 08:52 AM
Administrator