The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2007, 10:20 PM

NMrodblder is on a distinguished road
Default Opinion on Tradition

Hey Everyone!

The discussion I want to start is, I have been studying and ties patterns for flies for about 20 years now. There are some things that holde true no matter what and some that consistently throw me for a loop.

Size, shape and color have always been the basis for initiation. Then Bead head came around. I have tied a number of flies traditional and bead headed with various results, all good (which makes it harder).

What does the general tying public think? Personally, if they make a bead small enough for the hook, tying nyphs will always have one.
Old 09-30-2007, 09:56 AM
Administrator

Frank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Frank Whiton
Default Re: Opinion on Tradition

Hi NMrodblder,