The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2012, 01:09 PM

matt o is on a distinguished road
Default Redfish Fly Patterns?

I am a beginner, been tying a bunch of clousers to start with and recently tied some bendbacks and some simple redfish flies. Any suggestions for a good redfish fly (murkey water)?

These are the simple patterns I tied these this week

Click the image to open in full size.
Old 05-23-2012, 03:53 PM

bigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud ofbigjim5589 has much to be proud of
Default Re: Redfish Fly Patterns?

What you have there should work well. "Murky" means different things to different people. If you mean stained, like the brown tannic stain of many backwaters, then those flies will be fine. If you mean muddy stained, then you want flies that push water and are of a profile & color that is easily seen up close.

I would use the basic concept of what you have. Vary the eye weights a bit for different depths & fall rates. Tie some in other colors such as olive, black, hot pink combinations. Tie some with a body of rabbit & what you're using, and perhaps some with a dense "head", perhaps wool or spun deerhair. This will give you some flies that push a lot of water.