The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

Like Tree44Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 11:33 AM

jhardin80 is on a distinguished road
Default To tie or not to tie?

I am a beginner fly fisherman. Of course I have been going through quite a few flies. I was wondering if it was worth tying my own flies or just continue to buy them? I'm not an entomologist by any means. I barely know how to cast still. Is it worth the headache of learning all that is involved in tying flies right now or should I just concentrate on getting better at fishing than the actual flies for now?

Thanks in advance!
Old 12-03-2012, 11:45 AM

dean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant futuredean_mt has a brilliant future
Default Re: To tie or not to tie?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhardin80 View Post
I am a beginner fly fisherman. Of course I have been going through quite a few flies. I was wondering if it was worth tying my own flies or just continue to buy them? I'm not an entomologist by any means. I barely know how to cast still. Is it worth the headache of learning all that is involved in tying flies right now or should I just concentrate on getting better at fishing than the actual flies for now?

Thanks in advance!
First off, welcome!

I recommend any serious fly fisherman to learn how to tie. Absolutely. It will eventually make you a better angler, and it is quite a pleasurable past time.

But if you are just learning to fly fish, you probably should not overwhelm yourself with info, which can be very easy to do.