The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Fly Tying Discussions (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-fly-tying-discussions/)
-   -   Pheasant feather - uses? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-fly-tying-discussions/304759-pheasant-feather-uses.html)

turbineblade 12-09-2012 08:26 PM

Pheasant feather - uses?

Hey, I'm going hunting this winter and will have a lot of excess pheasant (from pheasant hunting) -- are there uses for PT other than the PT nymph (tail) portion? I'm pretty new to tying, so go easy if this is a stupid question :eek:.

If so, any tips on which parts are used to do what would be awesome!

Thanks!

noreaster 12-09-2012 08:47 PM

Re: Pheasant feather - uses?

Almost every feather from a pheasant can be used. There must be good soft hackle feathers. The tips that are used in coachman, forget what they are called. Especially the males. All the iridescent stuff around his head and neck.
I am sure others will chime in who know specifically but I would venture a guess that there are many many uses for pheasant especially the male.

cheers
phil

williamhj 12-09-2012 09:06 PM

Here's a site that will give you some good information on uses for pheasant feathers. I've used feathers from pheasant necks for feather inlays on rods too.

Hardyreels 12-09-2012 09:45 PM

I like the hackles for some trout / steelhead / char flies, back in Pennsylvania I made wet flies with the same feathers seen below.

All hackled with Pheasant rump feathers,

Ard

gatortransplant 12-09-2012 10:10 PM

Ard that pheasant rump looks like some excellent soft hackle material! I love soft hackles... I also love variations of the venerable pheasant tail nymph pattern... so as I see it, you can never have enough pheasant feathers!

Hardyreels 12-09-2012 10:37 PM