The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

Like Tree17Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2012, 07:26 PM

turbineblade is just really niceturbineblade is just really niceturbineblade is just really niceturbineblade is just really nice
Default Pheasant feather - uses?

Hey, I'm going hunting this winter and will have a lot of excess pheasant (from pheasant hunting) -- are there uses for PT other than the PT nymph (tail) portion? I'm pretty new to tying, so go easy if this is a stupid question .

If so, any tips on which parts are used to do what would be awesome!

Thanks!
Old 12-09-2012, 07:47 PM

noreaster is just really nicenoreaster is just really nicenoreaster is just really nicenoreaster is just really nicenoreaster is just really nice
Default Re: Pheasant feather - uses?

Almost every feather from a pheasant can be used. There must be good soft hackle feathers. The tips that are used in coachman, forget what they are called. Especially the males. All the iridescent stuff around his head and neck.
I am sure others will chime in who know specifically but I would venture a guess that there are many many uses for pheasant especially the male.

cheers
phil
brucerducer likes this.
Old 12-09-2012, 08:06 PM

williamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond repute