The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Fly Tying Discussions (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-fly-tying-discussions/)
-   -   Material ethics (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-fly-tying-discussions/306944-material-ethics.html)

drahcirb 01-03-2013 04:52 PM

Material ethics

Hi.
I'm new to fly tying and bought a retired tyers box full of materials. I already phased out his lead beads and lead wire because of the negative effects of lead. But he has a bunch of other materials I'm wondering about replacing with another product when I'm out. Mostly my concern is with seal dubbing and polar bear hair. Where do they get these products from? Id hate to be tying with some baby seal fur that got clubbed to death. Also wondering if anyone has any other 'red flags' when it comes to buying materials. I'm sure everyone has their own ethical line they set regarding the materials they buy or tie with and I'm just trying to figure out where I want to be.
Your comments/concerns are greatly appreciated!
Richard

Guest1 01-03-2013 04:59 PM

Re: Material ethics

Well the Seal would already have met it's end so what good does tossing it do? Second, at the rate polar bears are headed in 50 years we are going to have a bounty on the darned things. They have gone from 5000 to 25000. I'll bet the beads were not lead either. I have never seen lead beads. You can toss the lead if you want but the rest of it, use it and if you are not happy buying more then don't. If you feel bad about the polar bear, send it to me.

Kerry Pitt 01-03-2013 05:11 PM