The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By newby
  • 4 Post By flytire

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2013, 07:25 PM

jb fly is on a distinguished road
Default Chosen the right bead

How would I choose the right size bead for the I'm going to tie? I'm new to tying flies and I need help I have a lot of question and there is nobody in my area that I know that even fly fishes. I have to get my stuff off of eBay and I'm on a tight budget. I would like start tying with a size 4 hook.

Thanks for any help that is given.
Old 01-05-2013, 07:30 PM

newby is a glorious beacon of lightnewby is a glorious beacon of lightnewby is a glorious beacon of lightnewby is a glorious beacon of lightnewby is a glorious beacon of lightnewby is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Chosen the right bead

Check these links out. There was recently a thread on this.

Fly Tying Sizing (mm to inches..fly size and bead size) « SwittersB & Fly Fishing

Hook Size to Bead Size | The Caddis Fly: Oregon Fly Fishing Blog

Check these guys out for hooks and beads, free shipping:

http://www.allenflyfishing.com/fly-hooks-etc/
fredaevans likes this.
Old 01-05-2013, 07:37 PM

noreaster is just really nicenoreaster is just really nicenoreaster is just really nicenoreaster is just really nicenoreaster is just really nice

I'm not really sure but, I think the bead size corresponds with the diameter of the eye of the hook you are using. If the small hole end of the bead catches on the eye of the hook then it could be used. If the bead is too big the bead will slip right over the eye of the hook.
It would depend on how much weight is needed to get desired results. I'm sure some one who knows will let you know.
Old 01-05-2013, 09:06 PM