The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2008, 07:02 PM

Eric Cioe is on a distinguished road
Default Thread help for a total beginner

I'm warning you guys - assume that I know nothing.

I am attempting to start my first fly. I'm using the flyanglersonline beginners section as my resource.

I have this thread right now on my bobbin - Danville's Heavy Flat Floss, 10 yds 4 Strand Rayon. How do I work with the 4 strands? I'm assuming they all go through the bobbin together, but as I attempt to affix the thread to the hook, I am having a hard time believing that this is how it is supposed to look.

Any help would be much, much obliged. Like I say, I know nothing about this stuff but am ready and willing to listen and learn.

Thanks.
Old 01-16-2008, 07:27 PM
Super Moderator

fyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Thread help for a total beginner

Eric,
What fly are you trying to tie? and what size hook?

I think you should try a different thread, something like Danville size "A", or maybe "Monocord" typically when you start tying your not going to start with a floss, using floss can be a pain in the rear.

*Comments posted above are only my opinion. I may be right....ehhh.....I'm certain they're wrong. Take 'em for what they're worth.*

Old 01-16-2008, 07:48 PM