The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Fly Tying Discussions (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-fly-tying-discussions/)
-   -   Craft fur for Clousers? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-fly-tying-discussions/309991-craft-fur-clousers.html)

kingofamberley 02-04-2013 11:31 AM

Craft fur for Clousers?

I got some materials yesterday from bass pro for tying clousers. I am fairly new to tying and while I really enjoy it, I am still learning the ins and outs of all the various tying materials. Trying to save a few bucks, I opted to get craft fur instead of buck tail. I got a pack of white and a pack of chartreuse. When I got home I looked online to see if I made a good choice and I've been getting conflicting views.
So what do you guys think? Is craft fur any good for clousers? Or does it foul the hook too much/not hold its shape well enough? Did I mess up by buying it instead of real buck tails? I'm thinking of going back today to exchange it, but I'd like to get some opinions before I drive all the way out there. Thanks!

bigshayne 02-04-2013 11:35 AM

Re: Craft fur for Clousers?

You might have to use a little more of it than buck tail, but it's all I use for my clousers.

kingofamberley 02-04-2013 11:42 AM

Thanks for the quick reply. I should add, its Rumpf Extra Select.

Rip Tide 02-04-2013 12:01 PM

The craft fur will mat and you may have to comb it out once in a while but it make perfectly acceptable flies

If you want some cheap bucktail, Cabela's sells a "grab bag" of broken pieces for about 10 bucks. It's well worth it I think.
There really is no substitute.

http://images.cabelas.com/is/image/c...wU9t3Q2j9iA8y6

itchmesir 02-04-2013 12:07 PM