The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2013, 10:31 AM

kingofamberley is on a distinguished road
Default Craft fur for Clousers?

I got some materials yesterday from bass pro for tying clousers. I am fairly new to tying and while I really enjoy it, I am still learning the ins and outs of all the various tying materials. Trying to save a few bucks, I opted to get craft fur instead of buck tail. I got a pack of white and a pack of chartreuse. When I got home I looked online to see if I made a good choice and I've been getting conflicting views.
So what do you guys think? Is craft fur any good for clousers? Or does it foul the hook too much/not hold its shape well enough? Did I mess up by buying it instead of real buck tails? I'm thinking of going back today to exchange it, but I'd like to get some opinions before I drive all the way out there. Thanks!
Old 02-04-2013, 10:35 AM

bigshayne is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Craft fur for Clousers?

You might have to use a little more of it than buck tail, but it's all I use for my clousers.
brucerducer likes this.
Old 02-04-2013, 10:42 AM

Thanks for the quick reply. I should add, its Rumpf Extra Select.
Old 02-04-2013, 11:01 AM

Rip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond repute

The craft fur will mat and you may have to comb it out once in a while but it make perfectly acceptable flies