Any headache saving tips for a new tyer? (besides don't start the addiction)

finisher

Reaction score
Looking to start tying my own. Planning to get a Peak rotary vise, tools and tying supplies in the next couple of days. What would you suggest as essential tools and materials for a beginner? I already have the Dave Hughes American Fy Tying Manual. Any brands to go with or stay away from? I prefer to buy once, cry once. I appreciate any input. Thanks.

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member
Reaction score
Take a class.................. Otherwise it sounds like you're going the right direction. I am self taught however it took nearly 50 years. Most people don't have that kind of patience :D

Ard

JoJer

Reaction score
Hi Finisher,
First bit of advice: mine this forum with the search button. 'Cause there is a double handful of threads on this very topic.
If you're set on the Peak vise, great, but your in-depth search will bring you to the Ohio fly fishers vise shoot-out and that's a good place to start.
Also, you're eventually going to buy a how-to book. It doesn't matter which one, but if it's an entry level book, it'll cover what to buy and why or it'll cover techniques for the materials and tools as it shows why and how. That's not a bad way to start.
If you have a local fly shop, pop in and watch them tie and ask questions. Check local listings for a class.
Once you start, you'll have lots more questions. This is a good place to bring those questions.

jaybo41

Reaction score
Welcome to the sickness. A few random thoughts, I'm sure there are some things I've left out that others will mention.

From one Peak owner to another, I think you'll be very happy with it. Mine has treated me very well for nearly 5 years. Learn to use the rotary feature for flies that require tight wraps. Think Copper Johns. It's still good to learn to tie without the rotary though, there are circumstances where I prefer wrapping by hand over using the rotary feature.