The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2013, 07:53 PM

two_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of lighttwo_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of lighttwo_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of lighttwo_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of lighttwo_nymph_rig is a glorious beacon of light
Default Can I see some midge variations?

I am pretty new to tying, but I love tying midges. I like the fact that I can tie a very effective fly only using a bead, thread, wire, and occasional some peacock. I mainly tie different colors of zebra midges and brassies, but I am always looking for new variations or color combinations. Also, if anybody ties anything with two different colors of wire, I would love to see those, and a brief explanation of how you tie them. I mainly tie them in size 18. Thanks
Old 07-05-2013, 09:50 PM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Can I see some midge variations?

Planettrout ties more midge patterns than anyone else I know. Use the "advanced search function" searching for post by Planettrout or just spend some time looking in this thread, he posts some awesome looking midges and a lot of the time will post the receipes.
What have you been tying today?

Another person that ties some pretty awesome midges is Joni, you might search on her posts also.

Old 07-05-2013, 10:03 PM