The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

Like Tree6Likes
  • 4 Post By shinegrog
  • 2 Post By Hardyreels

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2013, 11:58 AM

shinegrog is on a distinguished road
Question On a Wing and a Prayer

I posted this on the Uk forums although having browsed the North American forums I figured there may be more of an audiance here. Im a long time lurker, first time poster on here.
I decided to jump right into the classics after being inspired by the posts of 's fontinalis' and 'Wingman' on the Uk forums. Anyway this is my first attempt, any hints, tips or curse's for ruining a stunning fly please post them up.

Durham Ranger.

Here is a bit of history for anybody interested,

The Durham Ranger was designed by William Henderson in the 1840's. The Durham Ranger was the first of the Ranger series of flies popular in the mid to late 19th century. Many of the Ranger style of flies are associated with the waters of Ireland and one version is called the Irish Ranger.

For anybody who has seen our very own Wingman posting his creations then you should know what one of these is meant to look like.
Here is my version :whistle:

Attempt #1 Size 1/0

Click the image to open in full size.

Dressing.
Hook: 1/0 TG Classic Salmon Iron
Tag: XS oval silver and lemon yellow floss
Tail: GP Crest
Tail Veiling: Indian Crow sub
Butt: Black Ostrich Herl
Body: 4 equal sections of lemon yellow floss, Orange, Fiery Brown, and Black Seals Fur.
Ribs: Large oval tinsel silver and large/wide flat silver tinsel
Body Hackle: Metz Badger saddle dyed yellow
Throat Hackle: Dyed blue hen