The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Fly Tying Discussions (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-fly-tying-discussions/)
-   -   Geez my egg flies are UGLY. (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-fly-tying-discussions/333556-geez-my-egg-flies-ugly.html)

okbow68 10-06-2013 01:22 PM

Geez my egg flies are UGLY.

Trying to tie up some egg flies with some #10 egg hooks and mcfloam egg foam out of a foam dispenser tube with Danville 6/0 thread. I'm getting it tied on with a little difficulty but when I cut the foam they are not round that's for sure. They are uneven and ugly even after fluffing the fibers. I have little orange rock looking flies. Yes I am new to this. Help.

Hardyreels 10-06-2013 03:09 PM

Re: Geez my egg flies are UGLY.

I've never used the material you describe but my biggest problem with the egg tied using Glo Bug Yarn was that they do not sink well at all................. I've often thought that the yarn would make better dubbing for dries than eggs.

Honestly I don't, haven't used an egg for years. I find that the fish that are hanging around spawners will take a swung Dee fly or Sculpin almost always. You do have to be careful that the salmon don't grab them though, yesterday I caught 2 Coho while fishing trout with a little 5 wt fiberglass rod 6'6" long....................... Between those I got about 2 dozen trout using a Jock O' Dee so eggs weren't needed.

Tying can be challenging but stay the course, I believe everyone had their difficulties when they started. I know that I did,

Ard

ia_trouter 10-06-2013 05:00 PM

I've been tying 10 days so take this FWIW....