The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2013, 09:06 AM

krikau27 is on a distinguished road
Default Introduction to dry fly tying.

Hi.

I'm a dry fly noob and need help to get a good start. I'm going to be tying March brown and Adams flies. I'm a little bit confused about theese flies since they look pretty much the same to me. Are they?
I normally tie streamers, so this is new.
Any links to good introduction are welcome. Step by step guides would be nice.

Kim.
Old 10-21-2013, 10:26 AM

innes is a splendid one to beholdinnes is a splendid one to beholdinnes is a splendid one to beholdinnes is a splendid one to beholdinnes is a splendid one to beholdinnes is a splendid one to beholdinnes is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Introduction to dry fly tying.

Try Charlie Craven's Fly Box for step-by-step tutorials. I think he is a bit OCD based on the detail he goes into but that's Charlie Craven. Although he doesn't go into the March Brown he does a good job on the Adams.

Charlie's FlyBox - Colorado's Best FlyShop and online Fly Tying Tutorials
mcnerney and stenacron like this.
Old 10-21-2013, 11:25 AM

williamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond reputewilliamhj has a reputation beyond repute

The Charlie Craven book is great. Lots of youtube videos as well. You mentioned the march brown and adams looking similar.