The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2013, 01:56 PM

krikau27 is on a distinguished road
Default Best fly tying books.

Hi.

I would like to get some good no nonsense fly tying books lots of illustration of how to tie. I'm not a complete noob at tying, but river fishing has not been my game, but I'm planning on going to fish rivers next season, so I need lots of info on dry flies, nymphs and so on. I'm planning on getting Charlie Cravens book, but other than that, is there any other books worth reading?

Kim.
Old 10-25-2013, 02:34 PM

flytire is a splendid one to beholdflytire is a splendid one to beholdflytire is a splendid one to beholdflytire is a splendid one to beholdflytire is a splendid one to beholdflytire is a splendid one to beholdflytire is a splendid one to beholdflytire is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Best fly tying books.

If you don't know a lot of techniques, I will recommend the fly tyers benchside reference. find it on amazon

I also recommend tying books by the following authors

A.K. best

Gary lafontaine

David Hughes

Terry Hellekson

Shane stalcup

John Barr

Mike valla

Dick talleur

Schollmeyer and Lesson

Mike mercer

+ too many more to list
billyspey likes this.

YOUR way is not the ONLY way when tying flies!

Fly tyers can be masters of making things complicated!

You're only limited by lack of imagination. Be creative, experiment.

http://flytyingnewandold.blogspot.com/
Old 10-25-2013, 07:37 PM

TeddyBallgame09 is on a distinguished road

Tom Rosenbauer = Fly-fishing & tying Jedi
Old 10-25-2013, 08:36 PM