Where do buy your materials.

jmhall87

Reaction score
I'm just getting into tying trout flies ( I've been tying saltwater patterns for about a year) I was just curious as to where you guys like to order materials for price and quality? I've got pictures of a couple attempts I made yesterday at a pheasant tail and a parachute Adams

Any critique on the flies is welcome

Reaction score
there is no 'one stop shop', though a couple come close.

J Stockard usually have the good stuff.

then theres Bob Marriotts, Caddis Fly Shop, Pacific Fly Fishers, Orlander Outfitters, Mad River Outfitters, White Water Flies, Dette Trout Flies, etc etc etc.

I'd avoid anything Waspi, as in my experience the quality is pure dung.... Get Hareline where possible.

repperson29

Reaction score
I usually buy my material from one of three places, as mentioned J Stockard is the place I go online to buy most material although I get almost all of my hooks and beads through Allen.

Then we have a field and stream that has a good selection and one of our local fly shops (unfortunately a little bit out of my way)

Ryan

bigjim5589

Reaction score
Agree with Eunan, you really need to shop around & compare. The sources he's listed have all been around many years. That's usually a good indication they're a reliable source, but doesn't mean they'll have exactly what you want or need.

I like the Hareline products too, but also will buy Wapsi & Raymond Rumpf brand products. ( All 3 are wholesale suppliers.)

I don't tie a lot of trout flies however, so my needs for materials are different.

Look around, do search's online & sign up for email notices & newsletters. Many online sources will have sales & closeouts on materials & they may not be widely publicized except via their email notices.