The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

Like Tree42Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2014, 10:46 AM

jhardin80 is on a distinguished road
Default Everyone says good tools

I looked at the sticky about the fly tying materials but I was wondering what list of tools I needed and what brand(s) are "good" tools to get. I'm just getting into fly tying (well trying to, haven't bought anything yet) and would like to know what you all consider to be "good" tools and what tools a beginner would need?

I start looking at things like a hair stacker, but what size would be a good size? 3", 2" 1.5"?

What type of scissors? There are about a million different wordings for the scissors. LOL

Men and fish are alike. They both get into trouble when they open their mouths.
Old 09-04-2014, 11:07 AM

flytire is a splendid one to beholdflytire is a splendid one to beholdflytire is a splendid one to beholdflytire is a splendid one to beholdflytire is a splendid one to beholdflytire is a splendid one to beholdflytire is a splendid one to beholdflytire is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Everyone says good tools

good tools

scissors = dr slick (for the small stuff) fiskars (for the big stuff)

whip finisher = your fingers. learn to whip finish by hand.

bobbin holder = anything with a ceramic tube

bodkin = needle stuck into a balsa dowel

half hitch tools = your fingers

hair stacker = how long is the hair you want to stack? get the appropriate size

hackle guards = your fingers

YOUR way is not the ONLY way when tying flies!

Fly tyers can be masters of making things complicated!

You're only limited by lack of imagination. Be creative, experiment.

http://flytyingnewandold.blogspot.com/
Old 09-04-2014, 11:12 AM
Administrator