Considering Fly Tying

bradya97

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am somewhat new to fly fishing and I was just wondering what flies you consider are easy to make for beginners, and work very well. I don't know about everyone else's opinion, but I believe purchasing flies are relatively expensive, and I believe fly tying could save a few bucks. Thanks everyone

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mcnerney

Administrator
Reaction score
Brady: Fly tying is a very enjoyable way to stay connected to fly fishing in the winter months, but you will find it doesn't really save money. On the other hand, as you get better with fly fishing you will find patterns that are extremely effective that aren't sold commercially, so tying gives you the capability to have specialty flies in your fly box. The main reason I say fly tying doesn't save money is that we all like to tie all the new patterns that we see on the internet and in the fly fishing magazines, and guess what, you won't have the right materials on hand so you have to purchase an ever increasing supply of materials. It just one of those things that can get out of control very quickly. If you do decide to get into fly fishing, I would highly recommend getting Charlie Craven's book "Basic Fly Tying", it is an incredible book that walks you through all the materials and their uses, the tools needed and then starts out with really simple patterns with the recipes and a material list and slowly each pattern gets a little more difficult. Best of luck!

[ame="http://www.amazon.com/Charlie-Cravens-Basic-Fly-Tying-ebook/dp/B004GGTAV4/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1453919128&sr=1-3&keywords=charlie+craven"]Amazon.com: Charlie Craven's Basic Fly Tying: Modern Techniques for Flies That Catch Fish eBook: Charlie Craven: Books@@AMEPARAM@@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51lkrbuKDkL.@@AMEPARAM@@51lkrbuKDkL[/ame]

fishmandoug

Reaction score
I agree.