The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

Like Tree57Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2016, 01:08 PM

javasmurf is on a distinguished road
Question Should I buy a whip finish tool?

It seems like whip finishing is very easy by hand: https://youtu.be/hynVdYIU5Cg

Is it worth buying a tool? I'm really counting my pennies because I'm a college student with no cash.

Thanks.
bigjim5589, hairwing530 and ts47 like this.
Old 04-25-2016, 01:14 PM

weiliwen has a spectacular aura aboutweiliwen has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Should I buy a whip finish tool?

I have a whip finish tool and never use it - I got accustomed to whip finishing by hand when I was in a situation similar to yours. I had a Thompson A vise given to me, a pair of pinking shears stolen from my mom's sewing kit, a $5 pair of hackle pliers, and that's just about it.

So no, not needed unless or until you can afford it. In fairness, I don't tie #24 dries, mostly nothing smaller than #16, so it might be nice for those tiny flies.
bigjim5589 and hairwing530 like this.
Old 04-25-2016, 01:28 PM

flytire has much to be proud offlytire has much to be proud offlytire has much to be proud offlytire has much to be proud offlytire has much to be proud offlytire has much to be proud offlytire has much to be proud offlytire has much to be proud offlytire has much to be proud offlytire has much to be proud of

as long as you have a finger.....my answer is no

or fingers

http://flytyingnewandold.blogspot.com/
Old 04-25-2016, 01:54 PM