The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

Like Tree53Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2017, 12:07 AM

kevjr is a name known to allkevjr is a name known to allkevjr is a name known to allkevjr is a name known to allkevjr is a name known to allkevjr is a name known to all
Default Hackle question

Hello,
I am just getting into fly tying and at some point I am going to have to buy some hackle, so I have been looking around trying to figure out what manufacturer to buy and what to get. So the question, does anyone have any experience with the introductory packs from whiting farms? I have seen them on multiple sites, including orvis and jsflyfishing, js has them for 65. just wondering if they are good quality hackle or if I would be better off buying a cape or two instead. Also if it is a good option should I buy the one that is 4 half capes or 2 half capes and 2 half saddles. Sorry if that got a little bit wordy.
Thanks
Kevin
hairwing530 and k_e_v like this.
Old 01-11-2017, 12:32 AM

don_p is a name known to alldon_p is a name known to alldon_p is a name known to alldon_p is a name known to alldon_p is a name known to alldon_p is a name known to all
Default Re: Hackle question

The answer(s) to some of your questions depend a lot on what you tie and in what quantity. When it comes to buying hackle I'd recommend, if at all possible, that you do so in person so you can handle and examine whatever you're after. That way YOU get to see the color and quality of the feathers and not leave that up to the stock person filling your order.