The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2008, 05:17 PM

coloradoavalanche is on a distinguished road
Default A few general questions

Hey, I recently received my fly tying kit and I got many materials. First, can you use nymph hooks to tie dry flies? Second, as a beginner I have trouble tying complex flys, so it would be great if you guys could suggest a fairly easy beginner fly which is effective in new england streams
Old 05-22-2008, 05:39 PM

Greenwood will become famous soon enoughGreenwood will become famous soon enough
Default Re: A few general questions

Hi,
Nymph hooks are generally 'heavier' than dry fly hooks, so it would be harder to get them to float. 'Course that will vary with the pattern. A big, foam grasshopper would float about any hook! But, the rule of thumb would be nymph hooks for sunken patterns. Dry fly hooks for on top.

Secondly, a real easy fly would be one of the soft-hackles. Such as partridge and green, partridge and yellow or a hares ear soft hackle (you can substitute hen hackle for partridge). You can pretty much fish them all year, you can't fish 'em 'wrong', and they're really easy to tie. Plus, your nymph hooks will work just fine.
Old 05-22-2008, 05:43 PM
Super Moderator

fyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond reputefyshstykr has a reputation beyond repute

Quote:
Originally Posted by coloradoavalanche View Post