The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2008, 08:38 AM

eaglesfn68 is on a distinguished road
Default need some easy patterns

hello im just starting out fly tying and need some simple patterns to get started with. I don't want anything with a lot of materials because i dont have a load of money for supplies. I was thinking of getting supplies for about 3,4,5 flies and get them down good then move on. What do you think?

Here are a few flies i have thought of:

ant
buzzer
partridge and orange spider
cork popper
Old 08-26-2008, 09:36 AM

Rip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: need some easy patterns

What will you be fishing for ?
If it's pan fish, a foam spider would be easier than a cork popper and foam makes a nice ant too
You can buy sheets of foam at a craft store or in the craft dept of a dept. store for pennies
Soft hackles like the partridge and orange are easy enough.
Most game bird hackle works, soft hen hackle too. For bodies use different colors of thread, dubbed fur (meow, woofwoof ), and my favorite peacock herl.
Lets see, so far that's thread, some game bird hackle, cheap foam, peacock herl, and free fur.
Old 08-26-2008, 11:47 AM

jcl is on a distinguished road