The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2008, 09:59 AM

txbevo has a spectacular aura abouttxbevo has a spectacular aura about
Default Learning Flies

I am a newbie to the sport and I am a little overwhelmed by all of the information especially regarding flies. I recently bought a new outfit from a local fly shop and also purchased some flies to start me out. The guys were helpful, but I realized when I got home that I have no idea what the names are of the individual flies I bought with a few exceptions. We went down the line and I was given one of these and one of those and I have no clue what I have in my fly box. How does one go about learning the flies (names, sizes, variations, how to fish them, etc...)? Can anyone recommend a good book(s) or website(s)? I feel like I can go out and cast well enough to catch fish, but if anyone asked what I caught it on I would have to show them because I couldn't tell them. Any shove in the right direction is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Old 10-21-2008, 10:26 AM

Snaggy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Learning Flies

It just takes time to get all the "Nymph" "Emerger" "Scud" wet dry blah blah down. I can't tell you what to do or how to get all the names down but here's what I did...

Year one.
Eggs Eggs Eggs. The only thing I knew were egg patterns. I learned how to tie them and I learned how to catch fish on em'.

Year one and a half.
Then came the Wooly Bugger. Same thing. Bought a couple then learned to fish them and then gradually learned how to tie them.

Years 2-now.