Peacock Herl Tip/Discovery

FrankB2

Reaction score
Hey! I've been tying in a serious way for nearly 7 years, and just discovered
this about peacock herl: if you hold the strand by the tip, and stroke the
downward with thumb and index, the herl's fibers come alive! I consider myself to be fairly well skilled at tying, but never saw nor heard of this
being done......I dunno.....:confused:

Frank Whiton

Most Senior Member
Reaction score
Hi FrankB2,

No matter how long you tye there is always something new to learn.

Here is another tip using Peacock Herl for bodies. Peacock Herl is not very strong and here is a way to make a tougher body. Take three or four strands of herl about 5" long and tie in at the rear of the body where the tail was tied in. Now make a thread loop like you would for dubbing. Take the thread loop and the strands of herl and grasp with your hackle pliers. Now twist the thread and herl together five or six times turning the hackle pliers in a counterclockwise direction. Don't wind too tight or the herl will break. Wind the twisted herl and thread over the shank in a clock wise direction. As you make each turn brush the flues back. As you wind forward and brushing back the flues you may need to add another twist or two to keep the herl and thread wrapped tightly together. Tie off at the head and finish the fly. You will find this style of body to be a lot stronger than just wrapping the herl.

This is a technique presented in Poul Jorgensen's Book of Fly Tying. I think is is out of print but one of the best fly tying books I have ever seen for a beginner.

Frank

GeorgeMcFly

Reaction score
this is a lil quicker way to make a body of peacock. sorry frank I am lazy haha. check out how on this sts bugger. its at 3:40 of the video. . this is another way to make a peacock body. its kinda just like frank says but you don't twist the herl. either way you do it they both work out great. Schmidt's STS Woolly Bugger

Ard

Forum Member
Staff member