The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2008, 11:25 AM

txbevo has a spectacular aura abouttxbevo has a spectacular aura about
Default Hooks

I am new to fly tying and have a question. The recipes in the beginning fly tying book I purchased state to use Tiemco hooks. However, the fly shop I was in yesterday only carried Mustad hooks. Is it just personal preference as to the brand of hooks to use? If the recipe calls for Tiemco but I only have Mustad available how do I know which Mustad hook corresponds to the Tiemco or do they all use the same numbers?
Old 11-21-2008, 11:30 AM

Snaggy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Hooks

If your not confused enough yet...

Fly Hook Comparison Chart

You should be able to look at the Tiemko number and find the Mustad nearest to it. The hook size is always the same, 1 is large and 22 is tiny and so on. Make sure you get the size and shaft lenght (2X 4X short, etc.) and type (dry, egg, streamer etc.) to correspond or your in trouble.
Old 11-21-2008, 11:31 AM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute