The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2009, 03:45 PM

fishfinder27 is on a distinguished road
Default Inspiration for Ireland

I have a mental block, need some new ideas for patterns. Been tying about ten years and fish rivers, lakes in mid and west Ireland for brown trout. Have any of you guys from the U.S been over here fshing? My favourite/local waters would be lough sheelin & the Kells blackwater, Anyone Know them? I'm gonna get some pics of the flys I've tied over the closed season on here tomorrow. A rough idea of what we tie/use over here.

Lake.

Caddis(sedge) Size 6 to 16, Green, Brown, Red, Tan, Claret

Midge(buzzer) Size 10 to 18 Black, Green & Red

Dragon & Damsel (I am very new to these, have not fished them yet but i attempted a few ties over the winter)

Mayflies, I usually spend most of the hatch on lough sheelin where the spent fall used to bring up huge numbers of big trout every calm evening. Unfortunately the last 3/4 seasons have seen unbelievable hatches, but only a few small fish showing in the evening

In the Western lakes there is a smaller breed of mayfly and fish seem to prefer the emerging/hatching fly. Green/Yellow imitations work well.

River.

I only used the dry fly on the river in the past but going to use more nymphs this year.

Caddis, olive, small mayfly, alder

So if you were planning a trip to Eire, What would you tie for the box
Old 01-31-2009, 04:59 PM
Administrator