The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   General Fly Tying Discussions (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-fly-tying-discussions/)
-   -   Streamer question (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/general-fly-tying-discussions/7761-streamer-question.html)

axle27 02-06-2009 08:44 AM

Streamer question

I'm new to tying, so I have a question. Concerning freshwater streamers, is it taboo to tie a streamer with the hook up instead of down? I've seen saltwater streamers like this, but didn't know if this was an issue for freshwater.

Opinions? Advise? Clubbings?

Frank Whiton 02-06-2009 09:00 AM

Re: Streamer question

Hi axle27,

Sure you can tie with the hook up. I believe the original Clouser minnow was tied for Bass fishing. You can also use a weed guard if you are fishing cover that Bass use. So just use your imagination and incorporate some of the features you have used in saltwater.

Frank

jdorsey61 02-06-2009 09:02 AM

Tie them however you think is appropriate for the conditions. I tie some of my streamers upside down, too. In fact, when I tie larger streamers for bass, I always do. At one time, Mustad made a hook designed for just that (called a keel hook). Don't know if they still make them.

BigCliff 02-06-2009 10:10 AM

If so, this moderator is almost permanently taboo. When the poppers aren't working, I only take a Clouser off to tie on a marabou minnow, which also runs upside down, or a redneck rabbit/money bunny- another upsidedowner.

Frank's right, the Clouser was indeed designed for catching smallmouth bass in rivers.

Cliff's rule for the day: Only worry about taboos when there's a grandma or a customer in the room. Life's too short to fuss over such minutiae.

arfishinbear 02-06-2009 10:11 AM