The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2009, 09:16 PM
MikeyBob365 will become famous soon enough
Default too much weight

first off i'm very new to fly tying, and new enough to fly fishing to be considered clueless!

the fly below is a little creation of mine. when i first went fishing with it, my first cast with it went perfectly, but once it got wet i had problems throwing it (i have a 5wt cabela's genesis combo)! at first i just thought the eyes were to heavy so i went out, got some red eyes(the weight on my silver set said medium, so i just got small this time). today i went out with a black w/ red version of the fly, and once more after my first cast i felt no control over my rod!

so i figure i need to get rid of the eyes for sure, but what do i do to make it so i have enough weight for it to sink, but not too much for rod control purposes.
Click the image to open in full size.
i've caught one bass on this, and two on the red(only been fishing with each one once) for those who are wondering

also if anybody has tips to make my deer hair cutting skills a little sharper (no pun intended) that would be great!

thanks in advance,
Michael
Old 03-21-2009, 09:45 PM

Pavel will become famous soon enough
Default Re: too much weight

I found that I was having the same problem. You could 1)shorten up your leader. 2)Buy an extra spool for your reel and line it with something like Rio Streamer Tip line for chuck'n and duck'n type flies. 3) Depending on what weight rod your using, you may want to go up a size and some people say that a faster action rod will help as well. Hope that this gets you started.
Old 03-22-2009, 11:05 AM

jdorsey61 has a spectacular aura aboutjdorsey61 has a spectacular aura about