The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2009, 01:17 AM

overefined is on a distinguished road
Default tying materials

I am relatively new to tying. I tied all my nymphs last year and had a blast catching fish on the Taylor, Gunnison, and other rivers around Crested Butte. I have read Lefty Crey, A.K., and John Barr's books and I am getting more confused as I try to learn how to tie dries. There are a few materials that Im not sure what they are, mostly different kinds of hackle. I am also struggling to find a fly shop (online) that carries all the things I need. Is that common? Could someone suggest the best tying book for dries that explains things well. And is there a store that people like to use for all their tying needs? Is there a way to buy hooks in a variety of sizes, instead of 25 per size. I need tmc 101 and tmc 2488H in sizes 16 to 22, it seems that someone would sell ten to fifteen of each size in a package.
Old 03-28-2009, 07:26 AM

tgoodwater2002 will become famous soon enough
Default Re: tying materials

Hi, I have not tied many dry flies myself. I can't help you there, but this fly shop is suppose to be the biggest online shop there is.

Bob Marriott's Fly Fishing Store - Product Catalog - Search Result Page
Old 03-28-2009, 09:50 AM
Administrator

Frank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond repute