The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > General Fly Tying Discussions

General Fly Tying Discussions Talk about anything somewhat related to fly tying...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2011, 11:25 PM

famill00 will become famous soon enough
Default Help! Need some hook advice...

Hello, I was wondering what hook you tie your Clouser Minnow's on? I am new to tying and was suggested by the associate at Cabela's to tie the Clouser on a Tiemco 200R. Have any of you tied the Clouser on this particular hook? Is it ok that i tie it on this hook? I have done about a half dozen so far and they seem ok.. Thanks!

-Forrest
Old 01-03-2011, 11:42 PM

MoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Help! Need some hook advice...

There are a lot of different hooks that you can use.

For size 2 to 3/0, I like using Eagle Claw EC413 60 degree jig hooks.

For size 4 to 8, I use Tiemco TMC 811s.

MP
Old 01-04-2011, 12:22 AM

Ian Mann 4 will become famous soon enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by famill00 View Post
Hello, I was wondering what hook you tie your Clouser Minnow's on? I am new to tying and was suggested by the associate at Cabela's to tie the Clouser on a Tiemco 200R. Have any of you tied the Clouser on this particular hook? Is it ok that i tie it on this hook? I have done about a half dozen so far and they seem ok.. Thanks!

-Forrest